Happy blow up parliament day.

I love the 5th of November, and its surrounding days. Yes, there’s the magpie attraction to shiny things aspect, but mostly there’s just something about this time of year. Christmas itself is great, but having trad musician parents has meant the run up has always been a bit associated with being alone (as soon as I was old enough. Before then it meant village halls and tiny sandwiches and more mince pies than anyone needs to eat.) November and December are cold and dark, but shot through with all these little sparks of warmth and interest, and one of the few times people aren’t afraid to hold to some traditions for a change. We don’t have many any more. I’m desperately glad today’s hair-trigger panic about terrorism hasn’t destroyed this one.

Bonfire night though, is the threshold to all that. But I’m typing this on my own in a dark flat. The real place to be right now is at a display, surrounded by friends and strangers, everyone a bit cold but dealing with it because coloured stars are going crazy up there, and besides, it’s just what you do. It’s a time for fairgrounds with dubiously safe rides, more candy than you’ll actually eat and more coloured bulbs than you can count. I would have gone to the one near here last night, but I didn’t want to be alone and people had excuses. I’m making up for it next weekend with Hel and Scott.

But anyway, the flat is dark partly because my flatmate is still at work, or at the gym or something, and partly because the moment I got home, I didn’t bother with the lights, I went to the balcony. I’ve never lived on the 4th floor before. And I’ve never lived in a city like this. And even though I’ve not made it to a huge public display this year, the landscape is amazing tonight. I only wish I was higher up. This is the one of biggest buildings in the area 13 stories high, and nothing would block my view up there. In every direction, there is something. The ones furthest away blur with the streetlamps and it looks like the night time city is developing waves like the sea. It’s still going on. And it’s impossible to see everything. There’s always the bang of something happening when you’re looking the other way.

Am I going anywhere with this? No, not really. But despite all the things on my mind, the slight ache around my eyes that says I’m too tired, and the cold November air, tonight is really beautiful and I wanted to say something.

So, now I’m going to see if I can get onto the roof.

Leave a Reply

