Okay, Okay…

I admit it, I’m being profoundly unproductive recently. Essays and stress and general run-down lameness has been creeping on me and stopping me getting work done.

January is a bit of a wasteland month. It’s all the grey, dull, dark depression of winter but without the sparks of interest like bonfire night, halloween, christmas or new year. Just an inrelenting, depressing day to day drudgery, soaked in a heavy solution of flu and apathy. Joy.

In RL things, the Zero-Day WMF Exploit thing that happened the last couple of weeks has been very interesting. And has made me realise that the big crash that happens in the backstory isn’t quite so stupid after all, and reminding me that not all horrible bugs are intentional. (For the big application… Think image memes. Think time delayed payloads. Think really sadistic people behind said payloads. I’ve moved when it happens a little and placed it in the middle of all the nano plague nonsense, so I figure the nation being already in tech-induced red-alert plus such a widescale technical screwup would create the paranoia needed to provoke the system used 10 years later when the story is actually going on. Also means I can have Gyger be instrumental in the creation of Atlantis, so I can make that character be even more of a kind of folk hero to the techy guys in the story. It’s so nice when story problems just solve themselves like this.)

By the way, isn’t it a bit silly that Service Pack 2 takes longer to install than windows itself? o_O

Currently in the middle of editing a stupid Gothic Lit essay. 2500 words, and it should be 2000. Oops. Ah well.

For those of you procrastinating as well, here, have a random… stuff simulator.

Now I’m going to go back to staring at Openoffice pretending to work.

3 Responses to “Okay, Okay…”

  1. c.rooney Says:

    *giggle* Windows.

  2. Rachel Says:

    I agree with your assessment of January, and have decided that’s why I haven’t gotten much done this week. Thanks for the new excuse. I’m always on the look out for them.

  3. KT Says:

    *sigh* Windows. :(–>

Leave a Reply

