15 Things about Books

As Chan from Dreaming In Red tagged me with this, I guess I better do it.

15 things about books:

1. I never finished Lord of The Rings. I gave up halfway through book 3 when I tried to read it over 5 years ago and have never felt the need to pick it up since.

2. I think Roald Dahl is one of the greatest children’s authors of the last century and hope that the films will inspire kids to read the books. My other favorite author as a kid was Robin Jarvis, and I am still amazed at what he got away with in his work.

3. I think 1984 is an utterly brilliant book and that more people should have read it, even if it one of the most depressing things I have ever read. (And multiple times at that.)

4. The Davinci Code pisses me off. Not because it’s contraversial, but because I don’t think it is expecially well written or even that thought provoking. Also, the book it is a sequel to is more interesting. That he won’t get the hell out of the Best Sellers list annoys me as well.

5. I think the Lemony Snicket books are adorable and look forward to the finale.

6. I got very annoyed when Marius Brill’s ‘Making Love’ underminded it’s own brilliance and use of a very clever narrative device, by having a really lame ending. It had been going so well…

7. Complicity by Iain Banks is probably the most unsettling book I have ever read.

8. I have no real desire to read the rest of the Harry Potter series beyond the first book.

9. Snow Crash by Neal Stevenson is one of my favorite books, and a film adaption would blow the Matrix out of the water.

10. Only Forward by Michael Marshal Smith is the most enjoyable thing I’ve read this year, despite it’s silliness and slightly too neat ending. I desperately want there to be a film of it as well, but only if they don’t mess it up and make it suck.

11. The comic series ‘The Invisibles’ has been profoundly influential on how I see the world and inspired me to really throw myself into Philosophy.

12. I have a severe love for hardboiled narrators, and think Malcom Pryce’s Aberystwyth series is really quite underated.

13. I really dislike Wuthering Heights, and wanted the house to just sink into the moors, taking that bastard Heathcliff with it. (Yeah, I like my antiheroes but he’s just a jerk.)

14. Nigel Slater writes the best cookery books, because his style is enjoyable enough to read for pleasure as well as having really good recipies. Also, his autobiography was called Toast so you know he’s the man.

15. If I ever reach the height of what I’d like to be doing with my work, I’ll be producing something that manages to pull wit, cleverness and emotion together, to make work that makes you think and feel. Things managed by people like Orwell, Stoppard, and Stevenson.

There you go.

2 Responses to “15 Things about Books”

  1. minnix Says:

    you`re unbelievable. http://www.cunningham.dvirginia.com

  2. Marius Brill Says:

    “If I ever reach the height of what I’d like to be doing with my work, I’ll be producing something that manages to pull wit, cleverness and emotion together, to make work that makes you think and feel. Things managed by people like Orwell, Stoppard, and Stevenson.”

    That’s pretty much how I started, but you know it never ends just as you want it to. Or, possibly, there’s more to a good ending than what you might think at first reading.

    Anyway, good luck KT! It’s even harder than you imagine but easier than you think.

Leave a Reply

